$1,000 fine for pets that don't wear a seatbelt in New Jersey

Published On: Friday, December 14, 2012 1:30 AM
By: Sarah Weiss
Dog in a seatbelt
Click It or Ticket. Not only for people but also for pets at least in the Garden State of New Jersey.

Police and animal control officers are authorized to cite drivers for animals jot wearing seatbelts  in the car. Yes, that includes the back of a truck as well. Violators can be fined between $250 and $1,000 per violation.

Ray Martinez, director of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, just wants to avoid distractions while driving.

"People really drive a dog or a cat in their lap. Not that it isn’t cute. In fact, it is dangerous for the driver. It is dangerous for other drivers and dangerous to the pet."
Dogs can be placed in harnesses right click the seat belt buckle.

Cats do not get along with harnesses for the most part, so they need to go in a carrier in the vehicle. And the carrier must be folded downwards.